This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Parl nod to bill for spl status to backward areas in H`bad-K`taka

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 18:41

New Delhi: Six backward districts in the Hyderabad-Karnataka region were today accorded special status with the Parliament passing a Constitution Amendment Bill backed by an overwhelming majority.

The Constitution (118th Amendment) Bill, which inserts a new Article 371-J to provide special recognition for the six backward districts of North Karnataka -- Gulbarga, Yadgir, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal and Bellary, was passed in Rajya Sabha with all members present voting in favour.

Lok Sabha had passed the Bill yesterday.

The Bill provides for reservation in education and jobs for locals and setting up of a separate Development Board. This also provides for equitable allocation of funds for development of the region.

Initiating the debate, Venkaiah Naidu (BJP) said lack of Centre`s financial support was one the elements "missing" from the legislation. He also demanded Centre`s special grant for development and asked for adequate support for infrastructure development of the region.

In his reply, Minister of State for Home Affairs R P N Singh said the region has received Rs 407 crore since 2007-08 and if it can improve fund utilisation, the Centre would give additional financial assistance.

All the 163 members present at the time of voting in the Rajya Sabha voted in favour of the bill.


First Published: Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 18:34
comments powered by Disqus