One among 9 Congress MLCs to vacate seat for Chavan: MPCC
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, February 28, 2011, 23:05
Mumbai: Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) said on Monday that one among nine party MLCs elected from the MLAs quota would vacate the seat for Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan as and when asked by the party leadership.

Talking to reporters, MPCC President Manikrao Thakre denied there was any resentment among the MLCs over tendering resignation since they have not been promised rehabilitation.

Chavan, who took over as CM in November, is not a member of either State Assembly or Council and has announced he would like to become a member of the Upper House. It is mandatory for a Chief Minister or a Minister to become a member of either House within six months of taking oath.

Thakre said there were four party members of the Upper House, including himself, whose term ends in 2012. Term of three others, including Legislative Council Chairman Shivajirao Deshmukh will end in 2014 and an equal number will retire in 2016.

"Everyone, including myself, has offered to resign and those who get instructions from the leadership will do so immediately."

To a question, he said there was no problem if Chavan gets elected from his (Thakre's) seat. "The CM can get elected on the existing strength of the Congress in the Assembly."

Thakre said he has no aspirations to become a Rajya Sabha member in place of Chavan.

Asked about NCP chief Sharad Pawar's directive to his party Ministers to demand 50 per cent reservation for women in the local bodies in the state, Thakre said Congress holds the same position.


First Published: Monday, February 28, 2011, 23:05

comments powered by Disqus