This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Cong hails passage of bill on special status to six districts

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 21:50

New Delhi: Congress on Wednesday hailed passage of a bill in Parliament granting special status to six backward districts in Karnataka.

AICC Secretary Shantaram Naik, who is in charge of party affairs in Karnataka, said the move would help in faster development of the backward region.

The Constitution (118th Amendment) Bill, which inserts a new Article 371-J to provide special recognition for the six backward districts of North Karnataka - Gulbarga, Yadgir, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal and Bellary, was passed in Rajya Sabha with all members present voting in favour.
Lok Sabha had passed the Bill yesterday.


First Published: Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 21:50

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus