Cong Telangana MPs to boycott monsoon session
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, August 01, 2011, 23:07
New Delhi: In an embarrassment to the Congress, 10 party MPs from Telangana region in Andhra Pradesh, who have tendered their resignation on the separate statehood issue, on Monday decided not to attend the Monsoon session of Parliament in protest against non-formation of a separate state.

The MPs, including senior party leader K Keshav Rao, stayed away from attending the opening day of Parliament today and decided to boycott the entire session.

They were closeted at Rao's residence for the whole day, waiting for a call from Congress General Secretary in-charge of Andhra Pradesh Ghulam Nabi Azad for further consultations on the issue.

Karimnagar MP Ponnam Prabhakar said the Telangana Congress MPs who have resigned their posts will not attend the entire Monsoon session.

"We want a separate Telangana state. That is our only demand. So, we are not attending Parliament," he said.

Two TDP MPs, who have resigned over the issue, also stayed away from attending the opening day of the session.

While 9 Congress MPs are from Lok Sabha, Rao is from Rajya Sabha. Congress has 12 MPs in Lok Sabha from the Telangana region.

The MPs resigned on July 4 in protest against the Centre's delay in announcing the formation of a Telangana state, but Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari have not yet taken any decision on them.

Meanwhile, a group of tribal leaders and Congress MLAs from tribal regions met Azad and demanded a separate state.


First Published: Monday, August 01, 2011, 23:07

comments powered by Disqus