Conspiracy against Left govt: Tripura CM

Last Updated: Monday, December 5, 2011 - 12:10

Agartala: Chief Minister Manik Sarkar on Monday said conspiracies are being hatched to oust the country`s only Left Front government in Tripura in the 2013 assembly polls.

"Anti-Left forces like wild animals had plunged upon the then Left Front government in West Bengal. A larger such assault is being formulated against Tripura`s Left government," he said addressing a tribal employees convention here.

Sarkar, also a Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) politburo member, said some political forces kept alive terrorists to use them against the Left Front government in the 2013 assembly elections.

"A section of political forces is telling underground militants that they are coming to power in the next assembly polls and asking the extremists to work against the Left government. They are also trying to upset tribal and non-tribal integrity for political benefit," he said.

"Election is a larger political struggle, success and failure are part and parcel of this effort. Those people who are saying that Left parties have been finished are living in a fool`s paradise," the Marxist leader said.

Sarkar, who heads the country`s lone Left Front government, is also the only politician in the state who will complete a record 14 years as chief minister next March.

"We will foil any conspiracies to dislodge the Left government in Tripura in 2013. We have a strong, sturdy and solid base, both among tribals and non-tribals," Sarkar said.
Coming down upon the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government, Sarkar said that with the weakened strength of the Left in parliament, the Congress-led government at the centre is now adopting anti-people policies and surrendering to imperialist forces.


First Published: Monday, December 5, 2011 - 12:10

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map