This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Odisha Assembly condoles death of BSF personnel

Last Updated: Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 19:17

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly on Tuesday paid
tributes to seven security personnel, including four from BSF,
who laid down their lives fighting against Maoists in the

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved a motion in the house
as soon as the customary Governor`s address on the first
day of the budget session was over.

The motion was supported by the leaders of Congress,
BJP, NCP and CPI leaders who too made obituary references.

The late security personnel of BSF comprised JR Khaswan,
ex-commandan, Rajesh Sharan, second-in-command, Ashok Kumar
Yadav, ex-inspector and Jitendra Kumar, ex-ASI. It also
included Odisha Police`s Sunasira Mohanty, ex-constable,
Umakanta Jani, ex-constable and Sangram Kumar Lenka,

While BSF personnel died in a land mine explosion in
Malkangiri district on Febuary 10, the three Odisha police
members died in Kandhamal district while fighting against the
ultras, Patnaik said.

Paying tributes to the security personnel, Patnaik said
the four BSF jawans hailing from other states sacrificed
their lives in Odisha.

The House also condoled the death of ex-minister and
ex-leader of opposition Ulaka Ramachandra and former members
Bhanu Prakash Joshi, Gopinath Bhoi and Kanhu Charana Mallick.

"Ullaka Ramachandra was a prominent tribal leader who had
been elected to the Assembly seven times and also become
minister. He was also leader of opposition for some time,"
Leader of Opposition of Congress, Bhupinder Singh said.

The members observed two minutes` silence as a mark of
respect to the departed souls.


First Published: Tuesday, February 21, 2012 - 19:17
comments powered by Disqus