Pak SC disqualifies Rehman Malik over dual nationality

Pakistan Supreme Court disqualified Rehman Malik along with 11 other parliamentarians over dual nationality.

Updated: Sep 21, 2012, 00:21 AM IST

Zeenews Bureau

Islamabad: In fresh troubles for Pakistani Executive, Pakistan Supreme Court on Thursday disqualified Interior Minister Rehman Malik along with 11 other parliamentarians over the issue of dual nationality.

Ten other members disqualified by the apex court include Farha Naz Ispahani, Zahid Iqbal, Jamil Malik, Farhat Mehmood Khan, Nadia Gabol, Amna Buttar, Ahmed Ali Shah, Wasim Qadir, Naeem Qasim, Ashraf Chauhan and Muhammad Ikhlaq, reports Express Tribune.

The Supreme Court in its verdict over dual nationality issue ruled out that all eleven MPs holding dual nationality were ineligible to retain public offices and said that they were being disqualified under Article 62 and Article 63 of the Constitution.

The court also called for recalling all the facilities provided to these parliament members.

Rehman Malik was declared ineligible for misrepresentation of facts in his 2008 declaration.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) was directed by the bench to initiate proceedings against the lawmakers as they had “committed perjury with respect to their oaths”. The bench also ordered ECP to take oaths again from all MPs.

As per the apex court order, the government has been instructed to withdraw the amount of money spent on the salaries and perks of the disqualified members and deposit the same into the national treasury.

With Agency Inputs