close
This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

NASA's Juno mission to Jupiter breaks solar power distance record

 NASA's Juno spacecraft mission to Jupiter has broken the solar power distance record.


NASA's Juno mission to Jupiter breaks solar power distance record
Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech

New Delhi: The US space agency NASA's Juno spacecraft mission to Jupiter has broken the record to become the humanity's most distant solar-powered emissary.

Juno has travelled about 493 million miles (793 million kilometers) from the Sun as of Wednesday morning at 11 am PST (2 pm EST, 19:00 UTC).

This graphic shows how NASA’s Juno mission to Jupiter became the most distant solar-powered explorer and influenced the future of space exploration powered by the sun.
Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech

European Space Agency's Rosetta spacecraft was the previous record-holder, whose orbit peaked out at the 492-million-mile (792-million-kilometer) mark in October 2012, during its approach to comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

NASA's Juno was launched in 2011and is the first solar-powered spacecraft designed to operate at such a great distance from the sun.  

Source: NASA

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

trending

photo gallery

video