Brisk polling in four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry

Amid tight security, voting took place for polls in Thanjavur, Aravakkurichi and for bypolls in Thirupparankundram in Tamil Nadu and the lone Nellithope seat in neighbouring Puducherry.

IANS| Last Updated: Nov 19, 2016, 16:41 PM IST

Chennai: Brisk polling was witnessed in the three Tamil Nadu assembly constituencies of Thirupparankundram, Aravakkurichi and Thanjavur for which voting began at 7 am on Saturday.

According to Election Commission officials at 3 pm, Thirupparankundram saw 62 percent polling while Thanjavur and Aravakkurichi saw around 60 percent and 73 percent respectively.

In the lone Nellithope constituency in Puducherry, the polling percentage was around 76 percent.

In Tamil Nadu, nearly 7.54 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise and decide the fate of 81 candidates in the fray in the three constituencies.

In Aravakkurichi, ruling AIADMK`s V Senthil Balaji is fighting it out against the DMK`s KC Palanisamy while at Thirupparankundram the AIADMK`s AK Bose is facing DMK`s P Saravanan.

In Thanjavur, the AIADMK`s M Rengasamy is pitted against the DMK`s Anjugam Bhoopathy.

In Thirupparankundram, the by-election has been necessitated by the death of AIADMK`s legislator SS Seenivel.

While there are other parties in the fray, the contest is mainly between the AIADMK and the DMK in Tamil Nadu.

In Puducherry`s Nellithope, Congress leader V Narayanasamy is contesting against AIADMK nominee Om Shakthi Segar.

Counting of votes will be held on November 22.