GJM wins three Assembly seats in Darjeeling
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, May 13, 2011, 22:29
Darjeeling: The Gorkha Janmukti Morcha on Friday wrested the Darjeeling, Kurseong and Kalimpong Assembly seats in the Darjeeling hills from its arch rival Gorkha National Liberation Front.

GJM candidate for Darjeeling Trilok Dewan defeated GNLF candidate Bhim Subba by a margin of 106,555 votes. In the Kalimpong seat, Harka Bahadur Chettri of GJM defeated Prakash Dahal of GNLF by a margin of 101,675.

GJM also bagged teh Kurseong assembly seat. Its candidate Rohit Sharma defeated GNLF candidate Pemu Chetri by 93,096 votes.

GNLF had won the three seats in the 2006 Assembly elections.


First Published: Friday, May 13, 2011, 22:29

comments powered by Disqus