This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Trinamool Congress state committee revamped

Last Updated: Thursday, October 15, 2009 - 00:01

Kolkata: In a bid to include all sections in
its fold with an eye to the 2011 West Bengal assembly polls,
Trinamool Congress(TC) chief Mamata Banerjee reconstituted the
West Bengal party unit on Wednesday inducting members from Muslim
community and Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribes .

While Subrata Buxi will continue to be the state party
president, the committee will have 29 vice-presidents,
including two retired IPS officers - Sultan Singh and Rachpal

Sudip Bandopadhyay, TC chief whip in Parliament, Abu
Ayesh Mondal, a former CPI(M) MP, and minority leader Javed
Khan were among the other vice presidents.

Rukbanur Rahman, the brother of computer graphic designer
Rizwanur Rahman who died under mysterious circumstances, is
one of the general secretaries, the sources said.

Among the other general secretaries are actress-turned-TC
MP Shatabdi Roy and the party`s all-India youth wing chief
Madan Mitra besides Tapas Roy, a youth leader.

Nuruzzaman was made the chief of the TC minority cell and
Purnendu Bose the head of the party`s labour wing. TC MP
Subhendu Adhikari has been made the chief of the state youth

A new post of Secretary-General has been created with
Partha Chatterjee, Leader of the Opposition in the state and
considered close to Mamata filling the slot. He was the
general secretary of the party so long.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, October 15, 2009 - 00:01

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus