Main points of Ukraine ceasefire `protocol`

The Ukraine government and pro-Moscow rebels signed up to a ceasefire on Friday, but renewed fighting around the key port city of Mariupol is threatening the deal.

Following are details of the 12-point "protocol" agreed in the Belarussian capital of Minsk as provided by the Organisation of Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) which brokered the peace talks.

The so-called Ukraine Contact Group made up of representatives of the OSCE, Russia and Ukraine "reached an understanding on the need to carry out the following steps", according to the document supplied in Russian:

1. Ensure an immediate bilateral ceasefire.

2. Ensure monitoring and verification by the OSCE of the ceasefire regime.

3. Carry out decentralisation of power, allowing temporary local self-government in areas of Donetsk and Lugansk in eastern Ukraine under a "special status" law.

4. Ensure constant active monitoring by the OSCE of the Ukraine-Russia border, along with the creation of a security zone in border areas.

5. Immediately free all prisoners and illegally detained persons.

6. Pass a law against the prosecution and punishment of people over certain events in Donetsk and Lugansk regions.

7. Continue inclusive national dialogue.

8. Take measures to improve the humanitarian situation in the Donbass (Donetsk and Lugansk).

9. Ensure the holding of snap local elections in Donetsk and Lugansk.

10. Remove illegal armed groups, military hardware, and all fighters and mercenaries from Ukrainian territory.

11. Adopt a programme to help the economic revival of the Donbass and restore activity in the region.

12. Guarantee the personal safety of the participants of the consultations.

The plan was signed by OSCE envoy Heidi Tagliavini, former Ukraine president Leonid Kuchma, the Russian ambassador to Ukraine Mikhail Zurabov, and rebel leaders Alexander Zakharchenko and Igor Plotnitsky.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link