This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Sikkim Assembly Elections: As it happened

By Neha Attre | Last Updated: Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 19:51

Zee Media Bureau/ Neha Attre

6: 30 pm: Nearly 70 percent turnout in Sikkim LS, Assembly polls

Almost 70 percent of the electorate in Sikkim today voted for the lone Lok Sabha seat and the 32-member state assembly in eight hours of polling, officials said.

5:20 pm: 52.5% turnout till 2:00 pm

A turnout of 52.5 percent was registered in the Himalayan state of Sikkim till afternoon Saturday for 32 Assembly seats and the lone Lok Sabha seat.

The voting percentage stood at 52.5 percent at 2:00 pm, CEO D Anandan said.

3:00 pm: Technical glitches reported

Some technical difficulties with the EVMs were reported from few places in the state. However, they were sorted quickly and voting process was not hampered.

1:30 pm: Peaceful voting in LS, Assembly polls

Voting continued peacefully for the Assembly and Lok Sabha seat and no untoward incident was reported.

"No untoward incident was reported anywhere and voting is taking place in a peaceful manner," poll official Anil Raj told IANS.

12:30 pm: Around 30% LS, Assembly voting till 10 am

Around 30 per cent polling was recorded in Sikkim for both Lok Sabha and Assembly seats till 10 am on Saturday, as per news report.

11:00 am: Voting underway in Sikkim simultaneously for LS, Assembly seats

Voting is underway in Sikkim for both Lok Sabha and Assembly seats on Saturday.

Candidates for 121 Assembly seats and six Lok Sabha seats are fighting the elections.

9:40 am: Sikkim votes for lone Lok Sabha seat today

Sitting MP Prem Das Rai of the Sikkim Democratic Front is re-contesting for the lone Lok Sabha seat in the state.

Akar Dhoj Limbu from the Congress, Nar Bahadur Khatiwara from the Bharatiya Janata Party and Kaushal Rai of Aam Aadmi Party are also contesting for the seat, the IANS reported.
8:40 am: Elaborate security arrangements have been made for elections

A force of 3,500 policemen and 15 companies of the West Bengal police have been assigned to maintain security during polling, the PTI reported.
8:20: Tough battle for the seats

Prominent contenders for the post of CM include Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) leader Prem Singh Tamang and Sikkim Democratic Front`s Pawan Chamling. Chamling would be contesting from two places - Namchi-Singhithang and Rangang-Yangang.

Candidates from the BJP, Congress, Trinamool Congress and Aam Aadmi Party will also be contesting polls.

8:20 am: Voting begins for Assembly seats

Around 3,70,731 registered voters have been registered to vote for 121 candidates in the Assembly elections.

Out of these, around 1,79,650 voters are females, as per PTI.

8:00 am: Voting for 32 Assembly constituencies today

Lakhs of people will be voting for 32 Assembly constituencies and one Lok Sabha seat in the state on Saturday. Out of the 32 Assembly seats, two are reserved for SC while 12 are meant for the Bhutia and Lepcha communities, the PTI reported.

Around 538 polling stations have been set up across the state.

First Published: Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 09:23

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus