This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

55% turnout in Laukaha assembly bypoll in Bihar

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 30, 2011 - 21:18

Patna: An estimated 55 per cent voters
cast their votes in Laukaha assembly bypoll in Bihar`s
Madhubani district which passed off peacefully today, an
election official said.
There was no no report of violence or rigging of votes
or any electoral malpractices, Additional Chief Electoral
Officer Kumar Anshumali told reporters.

He said that the election authorities had deployed
1119 polling officials and used 267 EVMs. 20 companies of
security forces were deployed for the bypoll.

Countingn of votes will take place on December four.
Altogether 13 candidates, including JD(U)`s Satish
Kumar Sah, RJD`s Mukhtar Ahmed and CPI(M)`s Satya Narayan
Yadav were in the fray.

The death of JD(U) Minister Hari Prasad Sah last month
necessitated the poll.


First Published: Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - 12:13
comments powered by Disqus