This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Awadesh Singh elected as Bihar Council chairman

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 8, 2012 - 15:13

Patna: BJP MLC Awadesh Narayan Singh was unanimously declared elected as Bihar legislative council chairman on Wednesday.

Council Deputy Chairman Salim Parvez informed the House about the unanimous election of Singh as its new chairman.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Leader of Opposition Gulam Gaus, Deputy Chairman and other members congratulated Singh on his election.

Kumar later escorted Singh to the chairman`s chair in the council in conformity with the protocol.
The post had fallen vacant after former chairman Tarakant Jha failed to get nomination for another term as a member of the upper house from his parent party, the BJP.


First Published: Wednesday, August 8, 2012 - 15:13
comments powered by Disqus