JD(U) expels five rebel Bihar MPs including Shivanand Tiwari

By Himanshu Kapoor | Last Updated: Thursday, February 27, 2014 - 21:59

Zee Media Bureau/Himanshu Kapoor

Patna: Janata Dal (United) on Thursday cracked the whip on five rebel members of Parliament, expelling them from the party for anti-party activities ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Those expelled from the party are - Jainarain Nishad from Muzaffarpur, Purnmasi Ram from Gopalganj, Sushil Kumar Singh from Aurangabad and Mangani Lal Mandal from Jhanjharpur. Also, Rajya Sabha MP Shivanand Tiwari has been expelled from the JD(U).
JD(U) leader KC Tyagi said, “The party have expelled five rebel Lok Sabha MPs, including sitting Rajya Sabha MP Shivanand Tiwari.” Tyagi said that the President Sharad Yadav expelled them but didn`t mention the reasons.

Shivanand Tiwari, who was denied a Rajya Sabha re-nomination, had claimed that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was trying to engineer a split in the RJD.

Thirteen RJD MLAs had walked out of the RJD, however, nine MLAs later re-joined the party claiming they were tricked into the rebellion.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav had also hit out at the Speaker for recognising the 13 rebel RJD MLAs as a separate group in the Assembly.
Nishad, Ram and Mandal were suspended by the JD(U) earlier for engaging in anti-party activities.

First Published: Thursday, February 27, 2014 - 16:56

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus