This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Nitish, Modi, Rabri file papers for legislative council

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 18:51

Patna: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar,
his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi and former chief minister Rabri Devi, were among eleven candidates who filed their nominations
for the April 26 biennial elections to eleven legislative
council seats on Wednesday.

The chief minister who belongs to the JD(U) is not a
member of the assembly and submitted his papers for the
elections for a second consecutive term.

The deputy chief minister belonging to the BJP besides
Rabri Devi, the RJD`s official candidate, also submitted their

Other JD(U) nominees to file papers for a second term
were Agriculture minister Narendra Singh, Rural Works
Department minister Bhim Singh, JD(U) spokesman Sanjay Singh
and party leader Upendra Prasad to returning officer, L K Jha.

April 16 is the last date of filing of nominations and
April 26 the date of elections.

Chances of a contest to the eleven seats look remote
at present.

Stating that the JD(U)-BJP alliance was working
perfectly in Bihar, the chief minister said that the decision
for the JD(U) to conest six seats leaving the rest for the BJP
was unanimous.

"We have established a good tradition of alliance
after the Rajya Sabha elections which reflected perfect
understanding between the two parties, the deputy chief
minister said.

Modi, however, evaded a direct reply to the BJP
denying party nomination to council chairman Tarakant Jha. "It
is for the central election commission to look into such
a matter," he said.


First Published: Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 17:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus