This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

EC changes voting timing in 5 Assembly seats in Chhattisgarh

PTI | Last Updated: Friday, October 25, 2013 - 00:34

Raipur: The Election Commission on Thursday changed the voting timing in five Assembly constituencies of Chhattisgarh`s Rajnandgaon district going to the polls in the first phase on November 11.

The polling in Rajnandgaon, Khairagarh, Dongargarh, Khujji and Dongargaon will now take place between 8am and 5pm instead of 7 am to 3 pm announced earlier, Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Kujur told reporters this evening.

As many as 18 Naxal-affected constituencies will go to the polls in the first round for which the voting timing was earlier fixed from 7 am to 3 pm.

Later, some political parties requested the poll panel to change the polling schedule in five of these Assembly segments considered least affected by left-wing extremism.

The polling timing in the 13 other constituencies will remain unchanged, he added.

The last date for filing of nominations for the first phase is October 25 and that of withdrawal is October 28.

First Published: Friday, October 25, 2013 - 00:34

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus