This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Arvind Kejriwal's roadshow: As it happened on Tuesday

4:00 pm: The Election Commission issues notice to Kejriwal to explain his comments by Thursday, for asking people to take bribe for voting.

3:15 pm: AAP leader Ashutosh confirms that Kejriwal couldn't reach Election Commission office on time, will file his nomination tomorrow.


3:00 pm: Roadshow delays Kejriwal's schedule, will not file his nominations from New Delhi constituency today.

1:00 pm: Kejriwal terms BJP a "machine of lies" and says people of Delhi will script history by electing AAP in the upcoming Assembly polls.

2:15 pm: AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal begins road show before filing nomination for Delhi polls 

12:01 pm: Arvind Kejriwal offers prayers at Valmiki Temple before filing nomination from New Delhi constituency.

11:30 am: The nomination will be preceded by a roadshow to be kick-started by Kejriwal from the Valmiki Mandir in the heart of the capital where Prime Minister Narendra Modi had launched his Clean India Campaign in Oct 2014. The roadshow - during which Kejriwal will outline AAP's vision - will end at Jantar Mantar.

11:26 am: Huge number of people have gathered at Valmiki Mandir road to greet Kejriwal.


11:25 am: Kejriwal to reach Valmiki Mandir main road shortly. The AAP chief will file his nomination papers from New Delhi constituency.

11:10 am: AAP leader Kumar Vishwas takes on Bedi for not accepting Kejriwal's invitation for a public debate ahead of Delhi polls. 


11:05 am: Congress leader Ajay Maken accepts Kejriwal's invitation for a public debate.​ 


11:00 am: Kejriwal tweets "On my way to file nomination. Accompanied by parents, kids and hundreds of friends. Being a govt servant, my wife can't join. Poor she!"

10:55 am: Just hours after inviting Kiran Bedi for a public debate on Delhi elections, Kejriwal opines that Congress campaign chief Ajay Maken should also be a part of the debate.

9:42 am: The AAP leader says: "It will be a good initiative for democracy if there is a debate between us on different issues. People vote in the name of religion and caste...They are not aware of issues. The debate, around 1-2 hours long should be on concrete issues."

9:40 am: Kejriwal speaks to the media, calls Delhi polls as 'dharam yudh' and again appeals to Bedi for a debate on basis of issues, saying such a concept will be a good tradition for democracy.

9:38 am: Arvind Kejriwal has only been debating, I believe in delivering, says 65-year-old Bedi.

9:37 am: Bedi accepts Kejriwal's challenge for a public debate, but says she would like do it inside Delhi Assembly.

9:35 am: Bedi says she blocked Kejriwal on her Twitter account after he called himself an 'anarchist'.

8:50 am: Kejriwal requests Bedi to unblock him from her Twitter account.


8:45 am: Arvind Kejriwal congratulates Kiran Bedi for being nominated as Bharatiya Janata Party's chief ministerial candidate and invites the former IPS officer for a debate ahead of the Delhi Assembly Elections.


8:30 am: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convenor Arvind Kejriwal will file his nomination papers from New Delhi constituency for Delhi Assembly Elections today at 6 pm. The BJP on Monday fielded a young party member Nupur Sharma to take on Kejriwal in New Delhi seat in Delhi Assembly polls.

Both Kejriwal and Bedi were a part of Anna Hazare's Lokpal movement, but parted ways after the former RTI activist chose to form a political outfit.

When Kejriwal and some other Team Anna members decided to enter the political arena, Bedi disapproved of being a part of any particular journey.

Interestingly while joining BJP last week, the former top cop said Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership inspired her to join the party.

While Kejriwal will contest Delhi polls from prestigious New Delhi constituency, BJP has fielded Bedi from Krishna Nagar seat in east Delhi. It was earlier held by Harsh Vardhan, the chief ministerial candidate in the December 2013 elections.

Voting for Delhi Assembly Elections 2015 would be held in a single phase on February 7 with the counting of votes scheduled for February 10. Delhi has 70 Assembly seats.

In 2013 Assembly elections BJP had won 31 seats, AAP 28 and Congress 8.

Delhi has been under President’s Rule since February after the AAP government quit after ruling for 49 days last year.

The total electorate of Delhi is 1.3 crore and the total number of polling stations are 11763.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions