NCR to have 29 more CNG stations by July `12: Govt
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, December 20, 2011, 14:02
New Delhi: 29 CNG stations in the national capital region, which are awaiting no-objection from explosives department, will start selling the fuel by July next year, the Rajya Sahba was informed today.

Petroleum Minister S Jaipal Reddy said during Question Hour that 29 CNG stations located in Delhi and the national capital region are awaiting no objection certificate from the Petroleum and Explosive Safety Organisation.

By July 2012, the 29 stations, which have been commissioned, will start operation, he said.

Currently, Indraprastha Gas Ltd (IGL) operates 241 CNG stations in Delhi and NCR.

Reddy said in July 2008, it was announced that IGL would set up additional 50 CNG stations before the Commonwealth Games 2010 in Delhi and NCR.

"During the period July 2008 and October 2010, that is prior to the Commonwealth Games, IGL set up 88 additional CNG stations in Delhi and NCR," he said.

Of these 88 CNG stations, 40 CNG stations were started before Commonwealth Games in October 2010. "The balance 48 CNG stations could not be started before CWG 2010 because of non- receipt of requisite permission/licenses/NOC/clearances from various authorities," he said.

Currently, 29 of these are awaiting NOC from explosives department.

Reddy said the issue of claiming carbon credit from CNG replacing polluting liquid fuels like diesel, will be examined.


First Published: Tuesday, December 20, 2011, 14:02

comments powered by Disqus