Repolling in 8 Gurgaon booths on May 15

Last Updated: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 20:03

Gurgaon: Repolling will be held at eight polling stations of Gurgaon parliamentary constituency, Returning Officer Shekhar Vidyarthi said today.

The repolling will be held between 7 AM and 6 PM on May 15 at eight polling stations -- one polling station each of Sohna and Punhana Assembly segments and three each of Nuh and Ferozpur-Jhirka -- in Mewat district.

The Election Commission has announced the decision after taking cognisance of complaints and report of the Returning Officer.

Vidyarthi said the repolling would be held at booth No. 126 of Government Primary School Bawla (Left Wing) in Sohna Assembly segment, booth No. 90 at Government Middle School Thek in Punhana Assembly, and booth No. 44 at Government Middle School Rahna (Left Side), booth No. 46 of Government Primary School Tapkan and booth No. 103 of Government Primary School Majra Bharganwa Sundaka in Nuh Assembly segment.

In Ferozpur-Jhirka Assembly segment, repolling will be held in booth No. 34 at Government Middle School Banarsi, booth No. 101 of Government High School Neem Khera and booth No. 166 of Government Primary School Shahpur.

He said the Election Commission had declared the polling held in these eight booths on April 10 as "void" under relevant section of the the Representation of People Act.
The results of these polling stations will be announced along with other polling stations on 16?May.

These eight polling stations witnessed high turnout -- above 95 per cent -- on April 10. Such high voter turnout had also raised suspicions.
In Gurgaon, AAP`s Yogendra Yadav is pitted against BJP`s Rao Inderjeet Singh, Congress`s Rao Dharampal and INLD`s Jakir Hussain.


First Published: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 20:03

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus