Ratia polls: CM asks voters to give Cong a chance

With polling for Ratia Assembly constituency scheduled for Wed, Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda appealed to voters to give Congress a chance.

Updated: Nov 27, 2011, 21:09 PM IST

Ratia: With polling for Ratia
Assembly constituency scheduled for Wednesday, Haryana Chief
Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda on Sunday appealed to voters to
give Congress a chance and ensure all round development in the

Addressing an election meeting here, he said people of
Ratia had seen non-Congress MLAs for almost 30 years. "It is
time they vote for Congress and thereby put their stamp of
approval on the developmental works undertaken by the present
regime," he said.

At the same time, Hooda said, "Do not give us another
chance if we fail to come up to your expectations."

Bye-election for Ratia Assembly constituency has been
necessitated following the death of sitting INLD member
Gian Chand Odh.

Former Congress MLA Jarnail Singh is among those pitted
against Sarfi Bai of INLD and Mahavir Prasad of HJC-BJP

Lashing out at INLD President and former CM Om
Prakash Chautala for claiming that reverse countdown of the
Congress government in the state had begun, Hooda questioned
how INLD could form a government with only 30 MLAs.

"There is a strong and stable government in the state and
Congress (including its own MLAs) enjoys support of 53 MLAs in
the 90-member House," he said.

Congress General Secretary and party`s in-charge for
Haryana affairs BK Hari Prasad, however, said the victory or
defeat of the Congress candidate in the two Assembly bypolls
in the state would not have any impact on the Congress

Besides Ratia, bye-election will be held in Adampur
Assembly constituency. Adampur fell vacant after resignation
of HJC President Kuldeep Bishnoi after his election to the Lok
Sabha from Hisar.

With opposition parties and his own detractors attacking
Hooda after Congress received a severe drubbing in last
month`s Hisar Lok Sabha bye-elections, Prasad categorically
said that Hooda will remain the CM for the
remaining period of three years whatever may be the outcome of
the polls.