Arjun Munda wins Kharsawan bypoll

Last Updated: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 11:25

Kharswan: Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP candidate Arjun Munda on Thursday won the Kharsawan Assembly bypoll defeating his nearest Jharkhand Vikas Morcha
(Prajatantric) opponent Dasrath Gagrai by over 17,000 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated as Munda has to enter the state Assembly within the mandatory six months period after becoming the Chief Minister on September 11 last year.

BJP sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy had resigned two months ago to pave way for Munda, who will have to be elected to the state Assembly by March 11 to continue as CM.

Munda defeated Gagrai by over 17,000 votes, Returning Officer CK Singh said.

Besides Gagrai, five others, including Bahadur Oraon of CPI (ML) and four independents, were also in the fray. The polling took place on February 10.

Munda, a third time CM since 2003, will have to vacate his Jamshedpur Lok Sabha constituency, which he had won in the 2009 general elections on a BJP ticket.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 11:25

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus