This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Centre re-constitutes Scientific Advisory Council to PM

Last Updated: Friday, November 27, 2009 - 18:37

New Delhi: Mathematician Sujatha Ramadorai, geneticist B K Thelma, physicists Mutansir Barma and A K Sood are among the new entrants to the re-constituted Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC-PM) which will
continue to be headed by top chemical scientist C N R Rao.

The apex advisory body on scientific matters will now have
32 members as against 28 earlier. They have been chosen to
cover a wide range of fields including government research
centres, academic institutions and the industry.

Former CSIR Director General R A Mashelkar, V K Singh,
Director of the Indian Institute of Science Education and
Research, Bhopal, D V Khakhar, Director of IIT-Powai and Venu
Srinivasan, Chairman and Managing Director of TVS Motor
Company are the other new members.

Earlier, Mashelkar was member of the body when he was
Director General of Council of Scientific and Industrial
Research (CSIR). He has been nominated to the new SAC-PM in
his individual capacity.

While Thelma Heads the Genetics Department of the Delhi
University, Sood is a physics professor at Indian Institute of
Science (IISc). Barma is the Director of Tata Institute of
Fundamental Research and Ramadorai is a professor of
mathematics at TIFR.

R Chidambaram, nuclear scientist and Chairman of the
Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, will also be a


First Published: Friday, November 27, 2009 - 18:37

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus