This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

CPM fixes tenure of secretaries to three years

Last Updated: Monday, April 9, 2012 - 11:12

Kozhikode (Ker): The tenure of secretaries
at all levels in the CPI(M) has been limited to three terms,
implying this could be the last term for incumbent General
Secretary Prakash Karat.

The significant amendment restricting the tenure was
unanimously approved by delegates at the ongoing 20th party
congress here yesterday, party sources said.

Karat, elected as General Secretary in 2005 at the New
Delhi congress and again at Coimbatore for the second term, is
expected to be re-elected for a third term.

The congress, however, did not consider a proposal to fix
the age limit for leaders holding positions in the party or
The constitutional amendment has a provision for a
secretary to continue for a fourth term if three-fourths of
the members of respective party conferences (the party
congress in the case of general secretary) vote in his or her

The period between two party conferences that constitute
a term is three years unless the meets are delayed due to
various reasons.

The existing party politburo held its last meeting
yesterday and prepared a panel for the new central committee
and politburo.

The panel was presented before the congress this morning,
which will elect the new bodies and the General Secretary by
The congress would conclude this evening with a rally and
march by party volunteers at M K Pandhe Nagar on the beach.


First Published: Monday, April 9, 2012 - 11:12
comments powered by Disqus