This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Task force formed to work on land reform issues

Last Updated: Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 21:46

New Delhi: The government on Wednesday constituted a task force chaired by Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh and co-chaired by Tribal Affairs Minister Kishore Chandra Deo to work on land reform issues.

Constitution of a task force to work on land reform was one of the decisions arrived in an agreement signed last week between the government and Jan Satyagrah activists, who fought for a National Land Reforms Policy.

Leader of the movement P V Rajagopal, Trinamool Congress MP D Bandhopadhyay, Planning Commission member Mihir Shah, B N Yugandar, Aruna Roy, Praveen Jha, Bina Agrawal and Videh Upadhya are the members of the task force.
Secretaries of the National Advisory Council, Dept of Land Resources, Panchayath Raj and Tribal welfare and Law are also the members of the committee.

The first formal meeting of the task force will be held on November 16.


First Published: Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 21:46
comments powered by Disqus