Assam MLAs take oath

Last Updated: Monday, June 6, 2011 - 12:34

Guwahati: Newly elected Assam Assembly members led by Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi on Monday formally took oath at the beginning of the thirteenth session.

Led by Gogoi, all the 126 MLAs took oath of office and secrecy which was administered by pro-tem Speaker Dr Bhumidhar Barman.

Among the prominent members who took oath were senior ministers Prithvi Majhi, Dr Ardhendu Kumar Dey, Gautam Roy, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Pradyut Bordoloi and Rockybul Hussain.

Others who took oath were all the 18 members of the minority dominated All India United Democratic Front (AUIDF), 12 of Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) and ten belonging to the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP).

Five MLAs of the BJP and the lone All India Trinamool Congress member also took oath.

The party wise strength in the state Assembly is as follows: Congress-78, AUIDF-18, BPF-12, AGP-10, BJP-5, TMC-1 and Independent-2.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, June 6, 2011 - 12:34

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus