Five officers shortlisted for DGP post

Last Updated: Monday, June 24, 2013 - 15:56

Shillong: A security commission of Meghalaya government today shortlisted five senior-most IPS officers of Assam-Meghalaya cadres for the post of Director General of Police in the state.

“The commission has discussed and arrived at with the names of the five names which have been considered by the security commission for the post of DGP," Chief Minister Mukul Sangma told reporters after the commission`s meeting here.

He said the recommendation was made on the basis of an existing Police Act which has given mandate to the commission to recommend names to the government.

Those shortlisted persons for the top police job are Kulbir Krishan (1976 batch), Subhas Goswami (1977 batch), Jayanta Narayan Choudhury (1978 batch), D K Pathak and P J P Hanneman (both 1979 batch).

At present 1977 batch and senior IPS officer Prem Singh is holding charge as the DG of police in the state after the Election Commission removed his senior and IPS officer Kulbir Krishan on February 23 last this year.

Kishan was appointed a full fledged DGP on November 30 last year and his name was again shortlisted by the commission which met today.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, June 24, 2013 - 15:56

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus