RS polls: All nominations in order in Rajasthan
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, June 08, 2010, 18:34
Jaipur: Nomination papers of all the six candidates, including Union Minister Anand Sharma and BJP's Ram Jethmalani, for June 17 biennial polls to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan were found valid on scrutiny today.

Apart from Sharma and Jethmalani, the other four whose nominations were found in order are Ashaq Ali Tak and Narendra Budhaniya (both Cong), BJP's V P Singh and Santosh Bagdodiya, an Independent.

Bagdodiya, at present, is a sitting Congress MP of the Upper House.

The last date for withdrawals is June 10 and elections, if necessary, will be held on June 17.

Biennial polls will be held for four Upper House seats falling vacant after the completion of the term of Najma Heptuallah, Lalit Kishore Chaturvedi, Narendra Budhaniya and Bagdodiya.

Bypoll for one RS seat, which fell vacant following the death of BJP's K K Valmiki, is also slated for June 17.

In the 200-seat House, the ruling Congress has 102 members, BJP (79), CPI-M (3), JD-U(1), Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (1) and SP (1).

There are 13 Independents.


First Published: Tuesday, June 08, 2010, 18:34

comments powered by Disqus