This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Uttarakhand CM announces four new districts

Last Updated: Monday, August 15, 2011 - 14:42

Dehra Dun: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh
Pokhriyal Nishank on Monday announced the creation of four more
districts and plans to enact a law against corruption in the
hill state.

Addressing people after unfurling the tricolour here on
the 65th Independence Day, Nishank said his government has
decided to create four new districts -- Kotdwar, Yamunotri,
Didihat and Ranikhet -- to provide smooth administration to
the people living in these areas.

With the new announcement, the total number of districts
in Uttarakhand would go up to 17 from the existing 13.

While Kotdwar would be carved out from Pauri district and
Yamunotri from Uttarkashi, Didihat would be created from
Pithoragarh and Ranikhet from Almora district.

Nishank said small administrative units were good in view
of development and accessibility by people living in the areas
and Uttarakhand was formed with the same purpose in 2000.

He said his government has also decided to enact a law
against corruption in the state and a bill regarding this
would shortly be brought in the Vidhan Sabha.

The Chief Minister also announced to increase the monthly
pension of freedom fighters to Rs 11,100 from the existing Rs
6,000. He said Uttarakhand is the first state in the country
to give such a big amount as monthly pension to freedom

Nishank also announced to provide a health insurance
cover under Atal health insurance scheme to all one crore
citizens of the hill state.


First Published: Monday, August 15, 2011 - 14:42
comments powered by Disqus