BJP announces candidate for Howrah LS by-poll

Last Updated: Saturday, May 11, 2013 - 21:38

Kolkata: The BJP on Saturday nominated its former West Bengal president Ashim Kumar Ghosh as the party candidate for the June 2 by-election to the Howrah Parliamentary Constituency.

BJP sources said that Ghosh would file his nomination papers on Tuesday.

Trinamool Congress has already announced former footballer Prasun Banerjee as its candidate.

The CPI(M) has fielded Srideep Bhattacharya and Congress Sanatan Mukherjee.

The by-election has been necessitated by the death of Ambica Banerjee of Trinamool Congress.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Saturday, May 11, 2013 - 21:38

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus