This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Meghalaya - State Profile

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:24

Neha Attre

  • The election on two seats in the state will take place on April 9 and counting of votes will take place of May 16.
  • The Lok Sabha elections will be held in Shillong and Tura Parliamentary constituencies.
  • The main political parties of the state are Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and National Congress Party (NCP).
  • Since the creation of state in 1972, the state has seen 23 chief ministers.
  • The state has 60 Assembly constituencies.
  • The Congress retained its government in the Assembly elections held in 2013 with Mukul Sangma as the Chief minister. The party had won 25 seats in 2008 Assembly elections, and fell short of six seats for the majority.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 22:37
    comments powered by Disqus